Cricket World
AddThis Feed Button Latest News
History - Asia Cup History
Get Complete History of the Asia Cup. Explore the origin of the cricket Asia Cup.

Asia Cup History

1984, UAE
The first edition of the Asia Cup, called the Rothmans Asia Cup and conceived in 1983 with the creation of the Asian Cricket Council, was held in Sharjah. The tournament was a round-robin tournament; India won the title on the back of a ten-wicket win over Sri Lanka and a 54-run win against Pakistan
1986, Sri Lanka
Now termed the John Player Gold Leaf Trophy, the second edition was held in Sri Lanka, the first such multi-nation tournament to be held there. The current champions India were not participate, Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup with a five-wicket against Pakistan after losing their first match to the against Pak. Arjuna Ranatunga was named Man of the Series.
1988, Bangladesh
Bangladesh hosted the Wills Asia Cup but failed to win any of its three games. Sri Lanka cruised into the final with three wins in a row but Finally India won again Asia Cup. Man-of-the-Series Navjot Sidhu's.
1990-91, India
India hosted the fourth edition and won it for the third time, defeating Sri Lanka in the final in Eden Garden, Kolkata Pakistan had pulled out of the tournament, which helped India's cause. Four wickets from Kapil Dev restricted Sri Lanka to 204 in the final, and a powerful middle order knocked off the runs in just 42.1 Overs.
1993, Pakistan Cancelled
1995, UAE
With the 1993 tournament cancelled due to political tensions, the official fifth edition returned to Sharjah after 11 years. India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan were tied on points after the preliminary round but the former two teams went in by virtue of a better run rate. For the third successive time India defeated Sri Lanka in the final. Led by a magnificent third-wicket stand of 175 off 184 balls by Sidhu and Mohammad Azharuddin, India cruised to an eight -wicket victory. This win took India's overall win tally to four, the most for the Asia Cup.
1997, Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka lifted the 1997 Pepsi Asia Cup by defeating India by eight wickets at home. Sri Lanka, having lifted the World Cup the year before, were a force to be reckoned with. The world champions made use of a slow surface to defeat Pakistan by 15 runs in the tournament opener, brushed aside India thanks to a brilliant Ranatunga century, and demolished Bangladesh courtesy Sanath Jayasuriya's 83-ball 108. Ranatunga and Jayasuriya starred in the final in Colombo as well, a triumph that followed their success in the Singer Akai Cup and Independence Cup in India earlier in the year.
2000, Bangladesh
Pakistan remained unbeaten all tournament and rightfully lifted the title for the first time. Bangladesh lost all their matches and India only beat the hosts. Pakistan were well-rounded; Bangladesh were thumped by 223 runs, Yousuf Youhana and Abdul Razzaq combined to down India by 44 runs, and Sri Lanka were beaten by seven wickets, with Youhana again the star. Come the final, at Dhaka's Bangabandhu National Stadium, and another all-round effort under lights earned Pakistan a 39-run win.
2004, Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka shrugged off an indifferent season with a 25-run win over India in Colombo in the finals, after losing just one match all tournament. Hong Kong and the UAE also participated but did little of note; Bangladesh beat Hong Kong by 116 runs to open up their account in the tournament history. Pakistan began well only to crash out due to an error in net run rate calculation and India came through despite a couple sluggish displays. But Sri Lanka once again proved dominant at home, defending a total of 228 with some tigerish fielding and top-class spin bowling from Jayasuriya and Upul Chandana.
2008, Pakistan
Sri Lanka beat in Indian again in finals at Karachi by 100 runs. Man of the match of final and Player of the series BAW Mendis (Sri Lanka) break Indian middle order claim 6/13 (8 overs). Sri Lankan batting star Sanath Jayasuriya make his 27th century after Indian get 4 Sri Lankan wicket just 66.
2010, Sri Lanka
Once again Sri Lanka take on India in Asia Cup Final. But this time seamers set up India's thumping title win at Dambulla. India beat host by 81-runs and lifts Asia Cup record 5th times. Ashish Nehra (4-40) proves to be the deadliest of three medium-pacers, repeatedly making the ball land on the seam, and regaining his special ability to get swing with back-of-a-length deliveries, taking three huge wickets for five runs. Man of the match of final Dinesh Karthik for top scorer of the match and Player of the series Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi. Pakistan does not reach in final but Afridi highest scorer and took three wickets as well.
2012, Bangladesh
The 2012 Asia Cup, the 11th edition of this tournament, played in Bangladesh. The tournament feature the four Test-playing nations from Asia: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Pakistan won the 2011/12 Asia Cup, beat Bangladesh by two runs in the final.
2014, Bangladesh
The 2014 Cricket Asia Cup, the 12th edition of this tournament, played in Bangladesh. The tournament feature the four Test-playing nations from Asia -- Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and newly ODI team Afghanistan. Sri Lanka won the 2013/14 Asia Cup, beat Pakistan by five wicekts in the final. Sri Lanka won all five match in the tournament
Asia Cup Championship Details (Since 1984)
Year Host Champion Runner-Up
1984 UAE India Sri Lanka
1986 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Pakistan
1988 Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
1990-91 India India Sri Lanka
1993 Pakistan (Cancelled)
1995 UAE India Sri Lanka
1997 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka India
2000 Bangladesh Pakistan Sri Lanka
2004 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka India
2008 Pakistan Sri Lanka India
2010 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2012 Bangladesh Pakistan Bangladesh
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka Pakistan

Last Update: Mar 08, 2014

1st match - Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians at Eden Gardens, Kolkata - April 08, 14:30 GMT
2nd match - Chennai Super Kings v Delhi Daredevils at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai - April 09, 14:30 GMT
3rd match - Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune - April 10, 14:30 GMT
4th match - Chennai Super Kings v Sunrisers Hyderabad at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai - April 11, 10:30 GMT
5th match - Kolkata Knight Riders v Bangalore Royal Challengers at Eden Gardens, Kolkata - April 11, 14:30 GMT

Asia Cup 2014 News
Virat Kohli Reclaims No.1 ODI Ranking
Malinga, Thirimanne Takes SL to Title
Pakistan Take on Sri Lanka in Asia Cup Final
Angelo Leads Sri Lanka to Tense Win
Rampaging Sri Lanka Take on Lowly Bangladesh in Asia Cup
Jadeja Magic India to Consolation Win
India Take on Afghanistan for Pride
Afridi's Blitzkrieg Takes Pak into Final
SL Beat Afghanistan, Qualify to Final
Pakistan Looks Final Berth Against Host

Latest News

Feedback Form